Contacts + Alert Management

One of the core features that make your IoT portal powerful is its alert management capability. This document will walk you through each component of alert management on the portal.

 

Available Alert Types

  • Less than / greater than / equal to / not equal to a number
  • Inside / outside GPS polygon
  • Equal to / not equal to a boolean value
  • Equal to / not equal to / contains / does not contain a string

 

Who can receive alerts?

There are two types of people who can receive alerts from a device:

  1. Users that are linked to the device's account
  2. Account contacts

For more information on #1, read how to link users to an account as Super Admin or as Account Admin.

 

Contacts

Account contacts are used when a customer wants a person to receive an alert, but they don't want them to have access to the actual account. This can also be used to allow a Super Admin to receive alerts from the device.

 

Instead of linking them to the account as a user, while viewing the account, you can go to Manage Contacts and add them as a contact.

 

mceclip0.png

 

Groups

Sometimes you want alerts to go to a specific group of people, such as Engineers. Instead of having to add every engineer to the relevant alerts, you can create a Group containing all of the engineers and simply add that group to the alerts.

 

Groups can consist of both Contacts and linked Users. Here, we see that David (contact) is in Group 1, but so are Nancy and Nick (linked users):

mceclip1.png

 

Creating Alerts

To create an alert, go into a device from the View Devices page, and go to Manage Alerts.

 

Fields

The alert fields are as follows:

  • Name - the label for your alert. This label is shown in the alert.
  • Enable - the alert will only send if this is turned on.
  • Trigger on - the tag that triggers the alert
  • Condition - condition for the alert, dependent on the data type of the trigger
  • Value - value for the condition, dependent on the data type of the trigger
  • Send Notification - the alert will only send out to people if this is turned on. Otherwise, will just be listed under the Alerts & Notifications page and the "Recent Notifications" on the Summary page
  • Require Acknowledgement - if this is turned on, then someone must go to the Alerts & Notifications page to acknowledge the alert
  • Notify All When Acknowledged - if this is turned on, then everyone who has already received the alert will be notified once someone acknowledges it (or if they un-acknowledge it)
  • Repeat Cycle Until Acknowledged - if this is turned on, everyone who has received the alert will continue receiving the alert until it is acknowledged or the maximum amount of repeat cycles is hit
  • Maximum Repeat Cycles - if Repeat Cycle Until Acknowledged is turned on, this is the maximum amount of times everyone will receive the alert before giving up
  • Wait This Many Minutes Before Repeating Cycle - if Repeat Cycle Until Acknowledged is turned on, after the last Escalation Group has been alerted (more info on Escalation Groups below), if the alert still hasn't been acknowledged and the maximum repeat cycles haven't been hit, this many minutes will pass before alerting the "Immediately Notify" group again (which starts a new cycle)
  • Wait This Many Minutes Before Triggering This Alert Again - if this is greater than 0, then once this alert is triggered, it won't be triggered again until that many minutes have passed, even if the conditions for the alert are met

GPS Value

Instead of typing in GPS coordinates for a GPS tag, a map appears where you can draw a boundary. To draw a boundary, first click on the shape tool on the top of the map.

mceclip2.png

 

Then, you can click for each point. To close the shape, click on the first point made. Do not drag -  this just moves the map.

mceclip3.png

 

Only one shape can be used as a boundary. If you create a new shape, the old shape is replaced. You can also click "Clear Boundary" to remove the shape from the map.

 

Immediately Notify + Escalation Groups

Once the alert is set up, you get to choose who receives the alerts. First, you choose who should be immediately notified. You can choose an individual contact or user, or you can choose a group.

 

For each person or group added, you can enable text, voice, and/or email alerts.

 

However, sometimes not everyone needs to be notified at once. For example, perhaps upon an "Offline" alert, first only the Engineers need to be notified. However, if they don't acknowledge the issue after 10 minutes, then maybe their manager needs to be notified. In order to do this, you'll add an Escalation Group.

 

After clicking "Add Escalation Group", you can add contacts/users/groups to this Escalation Group just as you did with the Immediately Notify group. At the bottom of the Escalation Group, you can choose how many minutes to wait before this group gets notified.

 

Testing Alerts

Finally, after your alert is set up, you can click the "Trigger Test Alert" button. This will send out an alert as if it were real, except with {test value} as the value placeholder. This enables you to make sure everyone receives the expected alert. You will also see the test alert show up in the Alerts & Notifications page as well as under Recent Notifications on the Summary page.

 

Saving + Editing

Once you are satisfied, you can save the alert. If you need to edit it at any time, just click on it in the list and edit.